Winter 2022 photo dump

I’m not particularly a social media person. I keep a personal facebook profile since most colleagues in my field use it to share info on research, events, etc. There are now very interesting research social media options but people keeps insisting on fb as a primary means of communicating science. I guess this and many attitudes such as that keeps facebook going. I never understood twitter and I don’t use it. I share most of my work on LinkedIn which I find the most suitable network for someone with my profile. I’m happy to see more people from my field of studies going to LinkedIn.

For Starling Fajãzinha we have a youtube channel although posts are not a regular thing there. There is also a facebook and linkedin page, but the central network for ST is instagram (it publishes to the fb page). This is a more visual network and from time to time I publish a photo I like. There is a “latest photos” gallery in the home page of this blog. It’s not a successful profile but I’m happy with it and the reactions there to the photos. Let’s say that the success of the profile is proportional to the time and effort invested on it.

One of the “new” terms I discovered on instagram is the monthly (or something else) photo dump. As the name suggests it is a bunch of photos in one publication, for a simple description. So, I thought it would be a good idea to publish a “photo dump” of this Winter’s photos at Fajãzinha, a sort of summary of what I published since arriving in Flores in early November last year. Here follows. Enjoy!

Field work on the high pastures, early November 2022.
The simmental-fleckvieh at one of the Winter pastures, early December 2022.
High-Pasture cows grazing
The high-pasture cows grazing, early December 2022.
Sheep group 2 grazing, mid December 2022.
Sheep group 1 grazing, mid December 2022.
20230126_164840
View from the new pasture at Fora-do-Bardo, late January 2023.
High-pasture cows grazing, late January 2023.
Second calf of 2023
The jersey cow and her calf, early February 2023.
The simmental cow and her calf at the Vale pastures, early February 2023.
Rough sea, mid February 2023.
The bull and one of the high-pasture cows at one of the Winter pastures, mid February 2023.
The simmental-fleckvieh at one of the Winter pastures, mid February 2023.
Mowing weeds, early March 2023.
View from one of the Fora-do-Bardo pastures, early March 2023.
The bull and the simmental-fleckvieh group in one of the Winter pastures, early March 2023.
Two of the high pasture cows in one of the Winter pastures, early March 2023.
The new workshop, early March 2023.

Published by Starling Fajãzinha

Starlings (and other birds), Nature, Trekking, Farming, and Rural Life in the second westernmost village of Europe. Fajãzinha, Flores Island, Azores, Portugal.

13 thoughts on “Winter 2022 photo dump

    1. Hi! Most of the photos are from the small 60-inhabitants village of Fajãzinha, on the west coast of Flores Island, Azores, one of two Portuguese archipelagos in the middle of the Atlantic!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I just thought it would be nice to look at the covers of the Winter posts, and since the “dump” is now a thing I thought why not give it a go…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started